Photos

Photographer's Note

The Sun King, Louis XIV, initiated the construction of the Hôtel des Invalides in 1670. He wanted to provide a home and a hospital for disabled and impoverished war veterans. When the construction of the Hôtel des Invalides was completed in 1676 its front towards the Seine measured 196 metres and it had fifteen courtyards, the largest being the cour d'honneur that was used for military parades. The construction of the Dôme des Invalides was completed in 1708 and was for exclusive use of the royal family. The Dome with its gilded cupola is 107 meters high and Napoleon Bonaparte is buried in the crypt under the dome. The Hôtel des Invalides is now the home of several museums.

Aymeric, feather, asajernigan, anducina, ruisc_pt, Felip has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: ulf eriksson (UlfE) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2516 W: 81 N: 3657] (14641)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2006-11-06
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Camera: Sony DSC-V3
  • Exposure: f/4, 1/6 seconds
  • Details: Tripod: Yes
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2006-12-27 11:07
  • Favorites: 1 [view]
Viewed: 4869
Points: 18
Discussions
Additional Photos by ulf eriksson (UlfE) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2516 W: 81 N: 3657] (14641)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH