Photos

Photographer's Note

Inspired by the Crystal Palace in London and Porto Crystal Palace, its pre-molded iron structure was commissioned to a French foundry by the Count D'Eu, being assembled in Petropolis by Eduardo Bonjean engineer. It was inaugurated in 1884 in order to house the already traditional exhibition of vegetables and birds of the region, taking place in temporary facilities on site. In 1957 the house was listed by the Historical and Artistic Heritage Institute (IPHAN). It was initially built to house agricultural exhibitions and today as a venue for exhibitions and events. In the Palace, in April 1888, with the presence of Princess Isabel, the last slaves of Petrópolis were freed in a beautiful party. Now receives various cultural events and exhibitions.

ikeharel, pajaran has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1173
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ricardo Rodrigues (ricardomattos) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1352 W: 14 N: 3480] (17460)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH