Photographer's Note

Belém was founded in 1616 by the Captain-mor Francisco Caldeira Castelo Branco, entrusted by the Portuguese crown of conquering, to occupy, to explore and to protect the mouth of the river the Dutch and English corsairs' Amazon. Located in an inhabited peninsula for the Indians Tupinambás, strategically located in the left margin of the mouth of the river Guama, where this disembogue in the stall of Guajará the Fort of the Stable, initial mark of the city was raised. Place where the discoverers and the Jesuits disembarked in 1616.
The fort, soon afterwards, the school and the church of the Jesuits, they formed the original nucleus of the city that later would be called of Santa Maria de Belém do Grão Pará, that established a port for the boats and ships that penetrated immense Amazon or if they drove to the sea and later to distant Tejo. Today that complex one is part of the obligatory tourist itinerary of Belém.
Also, it leaves of that complex. The image shows the House of the Eleven Windows, that was reformulated by the Bolognese architect Antonio José Landi to service of the Portuguese crown.
In the decade of 60 this construction was used as barracks by the Brazilian Army.
Today, her this totally restored and it shelters a historical museum.

avigur_11, JorgeJacinto, carper, jhm, Ramonven, Galmeida, nwoehnl has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3458
Points: 25
Additional Photos by Antonio Negrao (aznegrao) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1484 W: 111 N: 1576] (10316)
View More Pictures