Photos

Photographer's Note

Soon after 1900 people were coming to see the colorful geologic sights, and the first accommodations were built along the rim above Bryce's Canyon. By 1920 J.W. Humphrey, U.S. Forest Service, was trying to protect the canyon's scenic wonders. In 1923 President Warren G. Harding proclaimed part of the area as Bryce Canyon National Monument under the Powell (now the Dixie) National Forest. In 1924 legislation established the area as Utah National Park, but the legislation provisions were not met until 1928. Legislation passed that year changed the name to Bryce Canyon National Park.

Royaldevon, pajaran, Fis2, papagolf21, brano14 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 908
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 699 W: 10 N: 2146] (8895)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH