Photos

Photographer's Note

The light of late afternoon was superb.
Construction of the bridge began in 1927, from a project of the Port of New York Authority. The engineer Othmar Ammann directed the construction. The bridge was inaugurated October 24, 1931, and was opened to traffic the next day. It was originally called "Hudson River Bridge", before being named in honor of George Washing

bukitgolfb301, pajaran, jhm, cornejo, Hansaphotos, alvaraalto, ChrisJ has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1518
Points: 40
Discussions
Additional Photos by Robert Labbe (poutpout) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 148 W: 0 N: 129] (3538)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH