Photos

Photographer's Note

Following on from yesterdays posting, this is a view looking inside the ruin. In 867 the abbey fell to a viking attack and was abandoned, and left in ruins untill a William de Percy orderd that the abbey be refounded in 1078 by a soldier monk named Regenfrith, dedicating it to st Peter and st Hilda. Later it became Presteby (meaning habitation of priests in old norse. This lasted untill it was destroyed by Henry viii in 1540.

Notes from wikipedia/whitby abbey.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1735
Points: 20
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by adrian nelson (nels) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 754 W: 24 N: 466] (2623)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH