Photos

Photographer's Note

The remains of the old church lie to the west of the village. It was built in the 12th century with later additions and renovations, including the tower of around 1500. The church fell into disuse when the new church was built in 1799. When he built Ayot House, Sir Leonard Lyde found that the old church had blocked his view, and began to demolish it without permission from the bishop. He was forced to cease the desecration as soon as news reached the bishop, but the work had proceeded too far, and the ruins stand today as a reminder of his folly.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1569
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Rob Taylor (robwgc) (22)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH