Photos

Photographer's Note

Neidpath Castle is about a mile west of Peebles, positioned overlookiing the river Tweed. The site dates from the late 13th century when a tower was built here by the Fraser family, sheriffs of Tweeddale.
The exisisting structure, prbably built on the original tower foundatiion, is by the Hay family and dates from the 14th century.

The castle has a long and war-torn history.

In 1650 after the defeat of the Scots army by Oliver Cromwell at the battle of Dunbar, Neidpath was attacked and, after a limited bombardment, eventually surrendered. This may explain some of the damage on the Tweed side of the Tower, though part of this fell down due to neglect in 1790. In the 1680's Neidpath was purchased by William Douglas, Duke of Queensberry for his second son, the Earl of March, from whom is descended the present Earl of Wemyss and March. In the late 17th and 18th centuries Neidpath was extensively rebuilt with 'modern' folly-like work. However, despite this it still stands as an impressive example of an L-plan Keep and a reminder of the Borders warlike past. There are pleasant walks alongside the Tweed.

see www.clanhay.net/CASTLES/Neidpath.php

ls7902, snunney, flubwubs, Vinsachi has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1341
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Dougie Johnston (dougie) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 269 W: 16 N: 486] (2523)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH