Photos

Photographer's Note

Margonin town of Wielkopolska's region

Neo - Gothic palace in Margonin
In the 16th century 2 kilometers away from the feudal owners of the city of Margonin built a manor house - palace in a Gothic style. In the 2nd half of the 18th century the property was taken over by Anna Maria Ciecierska, who married Kazimierz Skorzewski.
In their residence, the Skorzewski family hosted numerous well-known and distinguished guests. Their house went down in the history of Poland due to one special event. In the palace chapel, October 17th 1773 there a wedding of the author of the Polish anthem, Jozef Wybicki and Kunegunda Drweska, Skorzewska countess' niece, took place.
The double row avenue of lindens, leading from the manor house to the village of Margonin, was planted by count Skorzewski in 1765.
From 1842 - 53 the palace was extended in the neo - Gothic style according to the F. A. Stueller's plans. It retained its style from that particular time. In 1905 the building housed the Royal Forestry School, which existed until 1916. After the 1st World War, in the Autumn of 1921, the Nationar School for Foresters was founded here, extended in 1937. After the 2nd World War it initially functioned as a Forestry Gymnasium, then as a Forestry Secondary School, and, finally, as a Forestry Technical College (closed down in 1957).
Today there is a public Witold Luczkiewicz Forestry Centre, lead by the Podanin Forestry Administration. In the interior of the palace there are two commemorative halls, devoted to the memory of Jozef Wybicki and the Tradition of Forestry Schools.

Beasolea, rodgerg, serp2000, Charo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1870
Points: 36
Discussions
Additional Photos by Tadeusz Rzepka (tedesse) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1341 W: 320 N: 2097] (25147)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH