Photos

Photographer's Note

There is a legend supported by observations by the 17th century Ottoman traveler Evliya Çelebi that there were 365 chapels within the town Ohrid boundaries, one for every day of the year. Today this number is significantly smaller.
Dating to the 13C, this church is covered with rare frescoes, representative of the country's rich Byzantine heritage.
Holy Mary Peribleptos Church
Built in 1295, the Holy Mother of God Peribleptos is one of the oldest churches in the historic town of Ohrid. The domed cross-in-square church was commissioned by the Byzantine governor Progonos Sgouros, a son-in-law of emperor Andronikos II Palaeologos. The frescoes in the church —which have substantially contributed to current knowledge of Palaeologan painting— include images from the Passion and the Gospels, the life of the Virgin Mary, and the life of John the Baptist. Byzantine painters Michael and Eutychios signed their work at the church, making Holy Mother of God Peribleptos one of only four churches that preserves the signatures of these important artists. An ambulatory was added to the church in the fourteenth century, but closed off in the nineteenth century, giving the entrance to the building its unusual appearance.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1135
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Piotr Fagasiewicz (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5636 W: 2 N: 11138] (52342)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH