Photographer's Note

This is the monument to the important event that happened here, in the village of Schengen on 14 June 1985. Initially the Schengen Agreement was signed by Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany. Now the Schengen Area comprises the territories of 26 European countries. Croatia, Cyprus, Bulgaria and Romania have status of future members. To get into the area Ukrainians should pay 35 Ђ for a visa. Politicians, businessmen, scientists, sportsmen, retired persons and so on can get their Schengen visas free of charge. Thus, I, as one of them, could save around 10 % of overall cost of the tour. These savings plus some amount of extra money were spent for additional excursions, as this one titled as "Along the Wine Valley of the Moselle River".

The monument is located near the point in the middle of the Moselle River, where the borders of Germany, France, and Luxembourg meet, and where the agreement was signed on board a ship. You can see the river in the background. The yellowish building is situated in the German territory. In the foreground I have placed concrete constructions, which symbolizes for me the mutual borders of the Schengen Area. If you use Google Chrome Browser or Windows Internet Explorer, press Ctrl + to expand the Schengen Area.

GPS coordinates: 49.47231 Lat, 6.36682 Long, 143 m

[ ← previous ] – TRAVELOGUE – [ next page → ]

Photo Information
Viewed: 3199
Points: 24
  • None
Additional Photos by Sergiy Lushpenko (s_lush) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1933 W: 47 N: 4467] (16602)
View More Pictures