Photos

Photographer's Note

Crypt of San Magno. It was built at the behest of Bishop Pietro da Salerno, together with the upper church, between 1072 and 1104. It kept the relics of the Saints, specifically those of San Magno, to which the entire Crypt and the main altar are dedicated, those delle Sante, Neomisia, who was the first Christian martyr of Anagni, Aurelia and Secondina, together with those of other martyrs. The underground room is rectangular and has three naves, transversal to those of the upper church, and three apses. Twelve columns, together with their respective arches, form twenty-one vaults which, with their walls, are decorated with a pictorial cycle made between the end of the twelfth century and the first half of the thirteenth century.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17577 W: 130 N: 36842] (201406)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2020-06-29
  • Exposure: f/0.1, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-07-02 0:31
Viewed: 0
Points: 48
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17577 W: 130 N: 36842] (201406)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH