Photos

Photographer's Note

Montesiepiís Hermitage, also known as The Round, is on top of the hill near the famous San Galgano Abbey. Construction began around 1182. It was built over the ancient hut where the saint spent his last year of life.

The building is made up of the church (the round part), the chapel with Lorenzettiís frescos (on the left) and the entrance pronaos (on the right).

Inside, right at the centre of the Round, there is the famous St. Galganoís Sword, that has been in the stone for longer than 800 years. The sword is now protected by a case because it was broken by vandals trying to extract it.

PP: corrected perspective with PTGui

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1665
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Nicola Salmoria (Nick70) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Silver Note Writer [C: 28 W: 10 N: 36] (221)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH