Photographer's Note

The Cinque Terre are five coastal villages in the province of La Spezia in the Liguria region of Italy. They have come to be among the most popular areas of Italy among tourists. The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hillsides are all encapsulated in a national park by the same name. The Cinque Terre is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The five villages are, from east to west: Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterrosa Al Mare.

This is a photo of the Village of Riomaggiore as seen from our boat. The wave breakers are of local granite rocks that have been bleached by the sun. There is no beach for sun bathing so the locals and the tourists all lay down on top of rocks. Naked bodies are all over the rocks like it were thrown down by the waves.

Nikon D200
2007/09/07 01:13:00.8
RAW (12-bit)
Image Size: Large (3872 x 2592)
Lens: VR 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 G
Focal Length: 40mm
Exposure Mode: Programmed Auto
Metering Mode: Multi-Pattern
1/250 sec - F/8
Exposure Comp.: 0 EV
Sensitivity: ISO 200
Optimize Image: Vivid
White Balance: Auto
AF Mode: AF-C
Flash Sync Mode: Not Attached
Color Mode: Mode III (Adobe RGB)
Tone Comp.: Normal
Hue Adjustment: 0
Saturation: Enhanced
Sharpening: Medium high
Image Comment: Copyright (c) Andre' Salvador
Long Exposure NR: Off
High ISO NR: Off

rjb874, parbo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 8605
Points: 12
Additional Photos by Andre Salvador (erdna) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 738 W: 81 N: 1094] (5713)
View More Pictures