Photos

Photographer's Note

This shot was taken from the Bridge of Rio-Antirio.
The narrows between the Gulf of Patras and the Gulf of Corinth are also called the Little Dardanelles. Here in 1500 Sultan Bayazet II built on both sides a fortress, which was reinforced by the Venetians in the XVIIIth century. The fortress on the Peloponnesian coast was called Castello di Morea (as the Peloponnese was named during the Venetian conquest), while the fortress on the opposite side of the narrows was called Castello di Rumelia (a synonym for Europe, deriving from the association made by the Arabs between Rome and Europe). Today they are called Castle of Rion (Morea) and Castle of Antirion (Rumelia).

evanrizo, TopGeo, Cretense, nisko, danos, luiscar has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2247
Points: 24
Discussions
Additional Photos by GEORGE LABROPOULOS (labro33) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 414 W: 0 N: 383] (2807)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH