Photos

Photographer's Note

Nizbor Castle was probably founded by Ottokar II (the first mention of it appeared in 1265). It served as a hunting seat of Czech kings and probably was the administrative center of the region before the foundation of Karlstejn.

After the year 1601 the castle was sold from royal property and the new owners rebuilt it
in the Renaissance style. The castle changed its owner again during the persecution of Czech noblemen after the Battle of Bila Hora (White Mountain). In the 18th century the castle belonged to Fürstenberg who reconstructed it in the Baroque style.

The castle was extensively damaged during the communist era. In the 90' it was in a very poor condition. Reconstruction is not yet completed. There is The Information Center of Celtic Cultur in the renovated part of the castle (wel known Celtic opidium "Stradonice" is on the opposite hill to the castle).

mcmtanyel, marabu61, Didi has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1136
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jan Rajsky (janraiski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 70 W: 0 N: 77] (558)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH