Photos

Photographer's Note

The Saint Salvator Cathedral, the main church of the city, was not originally built as a cathedral. Initially, back in the 10th century, it was a common parish church. At that time St Donatian's Cathedral was the central religious building of the city. At the end of the 18th century the French occupants of Brugge evicted the bishop of Brugge and destroyed Saint Donatian's Church. In 1834, a new bishop was installed in Brugge and the Saint Salvator church obtained the status of cathedral. The Saint-Salvator Cathedral currently houses many works of art that were originally stored in its destroyed predecessor. The wall-carpets that can be seen when entering the church were manufactured in Brussels by Jasper van der Borcht in 1731. Saint Salvator also has the original paintings that served as models for the wall-carpets, which make quite a unique combination. The original 16th century choir podium is also in place.

poutpout, amaryllis has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2194
Points: 12
Discussions
Additional Photos by Csaba Witz (csabagaba) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 590 W: 167 N: 1409] (6638)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH