Photos

Photographer's Note

Originally, this ancient temple was built in 1565 by King Sayasetthathirath to house the Emerald Buddha 1565-1779 (lost to the Siamese in 1828) as his personal place of worship. It was later reconstructed in 1936. For this reason and unlike other temples in Laos, monks have not taken up residence here.

During the 1970ís the temple was converted from a place of worship into museum and now houses the finest national collection of Buddhist sculptures and artifacts.

Source: Family Entertainment Magazine, (May 2014) Lao PDR

lousat has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1304
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Mics Gumangan (Mics) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 117 W: 0 N: 169] (984)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH