Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 05-18-2008, 12:38 AM
erdna's Avatar
erdna erdna is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,051
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

I shoot approximately 90% of my photos in RAW format using my Nikon D200.

Andre'
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2008, 12:42 AM
erdna's Avatar
erdna erdna is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,051
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

I shoot in RAW format approximately 90% of the time. For snapshots in parties I usually use JPG format. My processing is done using Adobe Photoshop CS2.

Andre'
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2008, 03:41 AM
mossphoto's Avatar
mossphoto mossphoto is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

100% RAW NEF, processed with Capture One Pro. Absolutely the best software on the market! However, not the cheapest.

IMO

~Vic~
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2008, 02:23 PM
mathiasmag's Avatar
mathiasmag mathiasmag is offline
TE Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

100%. It is quick to generate jpegs for snapshots later and every now and then a snapshot comes out so nice that you will want to have the flexibility of RAW.

Set it and forget it.

Mathias
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-19-2008, 01:26 AM
Greg1949's Avatar
Greg1949 Greg1949 is offline
TE Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

I always shoot in RAW and I process in Nikon Capture NX and/or Aperture.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-19-2008, 07:43 AM
ThomasL's Avatar
ThomasL ThomasL is offline
TE Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

Hmmm... Looks like a lot of you only shoot in RAW :)
Thanks for all your answers!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-19-2008, 10:56 AM
John_F_Kennedy's Avatar
John_F_Kennedy John_F_Kennedy is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Weiterstadt
Posts: 329
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

As Didi I use Digital Photo Professional which was in the Canon 350D. After converting to JPG framing, contrast or corrections with Photofiltre.
Best wishes,
Achim
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-19-2008, 01:38 PM
mossphoto's Avatar
mossphoto mossphoto is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
Default warning about jpg

I'm sure most of you know, but saving in jpg isn't always a good idea. jpg is a loss/save file format. That means every time you save it, is compresses the image. Then, when you re-open it, it uncompresses the image, and "fills in" the areas of the image that are missing. If you work on it and save it again, it re-compresses, then when you open it, it uncompresses. Eventually, it will degrade the image significantly.

If memory isn't an issue, always save in tif format.

I save each session in RAW, and processed tif. After two years, I remove the RAW files from client files. For my own work, I always keep the RAW. However, I have slightly over 1TB of storage space, soon to expand even further.

I also know some pros who save multiple copies of sessions to multiple hard drives. They also have multiple TB's of storage.

Just a pro's input.

~Vic~
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-19-2008, 01:41 PM
UnTrained's Avatar
UnTrained UnTrained is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 333
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

Nice to see that I am kind of an extraterrestrial here. I use RAW, no question, but for the step of development I prefer Raw Therapee instead of Digital Photo Pro even I got myself a canon. Ulf
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-20-2008, 01:52 AM
ScottHale's Avatar
ScottHale ScottHale is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 237
Default Re: Shooting in RAW

I have a Canon 30D and I shoot in RAW AND Large Jpg.
The Lg. jpg allows me to se a thumbnail in my windows explorer folder as the RAW only has a CR2 and a logo. I usually work with the CR2 (RAW) file then save it to a jpg and delete the original jpg. I always keep the original RAW file - unaltered.
I prefer using windows explorer to open my files with photoshop instead of the software that Canon provides.

I always use Adobe Photoshop CS3 to adjust my RAW files.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:00 AM.



Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.
explore TREKEARTH