Photos

Photographer's Note

Imposing ruins of the old Jesuitic reduction. Declared “Patrimony of the Humanity” in 1993 by UNESCO. It is considered as “the greatest and the best of all the reductions”. It was initiated in 1706. In the greater church the frieze of musical angels stand out; also there is a great stone pulpit. An amazing tower is located to certain distance of the smaller church. In the complex are two museums: The Jesuitic Museum with stone statures, niches and altarpieces, and the Litic Museum, to the flank of the temple, with pieces carved in stones, rest of angels and saints, and parts of some frieze with design of flowers and fruits of the vegetation characteristic of the region.

Source: rutajesuitica.com.py


All Rights Reserved: Alexandre Baptista Copyright. Use in any form is forbidden without the written permission of the photographer.

Direitos Autorais Reservados: A presente fotografia é obra intelectual protegida pela Lei 9.610/1998, sendo proibida a reprodução por qualquer meio sem a prévia autorização por escrito do autor. Favor contatar Alexandre Baptista.

pajaran, abmdsudi, papagolf21, williewhistler, jhm, danos, ikeharel, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3150
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Alexandre Baptista (gervaso) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3958 W: 18 N: 6892] (27399)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH