Photos

Photographer's Note

This impressive brick building was built in 1875 as the first Beaverhead County Courthouse. As the gold rush died, and the railroad expanded, the county seat moved to nearby Dillon. Then in 1890, Dr. John Christian Meade purchased it for $1250.00. Dr. Meade remodeled and turned the building into a plush hotel. Hotel Meade remained open for business for many years, abandoned at times and operated off and on until the 1940s.

In 1877 the town had a major Indian scare when the Nez Perce Indians defeated an army detachment at Big Hole, about one hundred miles to the west. Word was recieved that the Indians were on a rampage and headed straight for town. Lookouts were posted and the women and children gathered in the courthouse for safety and the children were hidden in safes. In the end, the Indians never attacked and life returned to normal.

Some people say that the this old hotel is haunted and that the apparition of a young girl has been seen there.

pulezan, nwoehnl, aznegrao, hispic, pamastro, Coyote, mikoyen, rabani, rildin, anney, Spyder has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3364
Points: 24
Discussions
Additional Photos by Ned Messerschmidt (nmess) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 558 W: 78 N: 414] (2301)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH