Photos

Photographer's Note

St Mary's Church, Canons Ashby
From the official guide book: "The pinnacled tower of St Mary's church is visible for miles around. It was built about 1250 as the church of the Augustinian priory on the scale of a small cathedral. The Cope and the Dryden families demolished the chancel, choir and half the nave leaving only the two westernmost bays of the nave which form the present church. The ground level arcade of the west front (facing the road) comprises columns of the local dark orange ironstone which contrast attractively with the pale cream stone of the arches. The large Perpendicular window above was probably inserted in the late 14th century. Sir Robert Dryden rebuilt the south front in the late 17th century and Sir Henry Dryden restored three of the tower pinnacles in 1838 to 1857."
A plaque inside the church states that it is one of only four private churches in the country.
This church is located in close proximity to Canons Ashby House.

Rossignol, TeresaT, Buin, syd1946, anew, longsnoz has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1900
Points: 12
Discussions
Additional Photos by Peter Smith (Rev) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 190 W: 51 N: 418] (1868)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH