Photographer's Note

Independentzia is the Basque word for independence (one of the few Basque words similiar to any other in the world). The poster design is a mix of the legal flags of the Basque Country and Navarre. The posters belong to the Basque independentist party Herri Batasuna; this party was declared ilegal in 2003, by the Spanish authorities. Last week the Spaniards didn't allow the Basques demonstrations for the self-determination of the Basque Country and Navarre. Just two examples of democracy in the Kingdom of Spain.
The man in the picture sports the typical Basque beret. This is a scan of a 1993 print, taken in Iruñea/Pamplona, Navarre.
Euskal Herria: Basque Country in Basque language (Euskara). In Spanish (Castilian): País Vasco or Vasconia. In French: Pays Basque. This historic nation is located in north of Spain and southwest of France, on the western Pyrenees mountains. It is traditionally formed by seven provinces: three in France and four in Spain.
Euskal Autonomia Erkidegoa or Euskadi (in Basque); Comunidad Autónoma del País Vasco or Provincias Vascongadas (in Spanish): that's three southern Basque provinces that constitute the Basque Autonomous Community within the Kingdom of Spain. The names Euskal Herria and País Vasco are used often to refer to this autonomous community instead of the whole historic Basque nation.
Nafarroako Foru Erkidegoa or Nafarroa (in Basque); Comunidad Foral de Navarra or Navarra (in Spanish): that's the southern Basque province that constitute the automomous Foral Community of Navarre within the Kingdom of Spain.
Iparralde (Northern part in Basque); Pays Basque (in French): that's the northern traditional basque provinces of Euskal Herria, located within the French department of the Pyrénées-Atlantiques. It has no administrative status.
Hegoalde (Southern part in Basque): that's the southern traditional basque provinces of Euskal Herria, located in Spain. This name is not much used.
The Basque nationalists claim an independent state comprising the seven provinces of the historic Euskal Herria: Araba (Spanish: Álava), Bizkaia (Vizcaya), Gipuzkoa (Guipúzcoa), Nafarroa (Navarra; Navarre), Nafarroa Beherea (French: Basse-Navarre; Lower Navarre), Lapurdi (French: Labourd), and Zuberoa (French: Soule). The capital would be Iruñea (Pamplona, in Navarre).

ribeiroantonio, riclopes, touristdidi, Hibai, plimrn, stego has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3226
Points: 4
Additional Photos by Francisco Santos (xuaxo) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 4896 W: 319 N: 4862] (6854)
View More Pictures