Photos

Photographer's Note

The former Camaldolese monastery located on a hill over Wigry lake. View from Clock Tower. The Camaldolites came to this region in 1668 and founded their monastery here – they built a chapel, a church and the necessary utility buildings: a church, 12 hermitages, a refectory, chancellor's chapel also called the royal house, a clock tower, curtal friar's house and other. The Baroque church, whose construction lasted half a century, became the dominating element of the monastery. The monastic complex suffered damages during the First and the Second World Wars. Until today, the church, hermitages, refectory, curtal friar's house, chancellor's chapel and the clock tower have been rebuilt.

See You alternative take in the Workshop, please!

Fis2, pajaran, holmertz, snunney, jhm, ikeharel, Tue, rychem, PaulVDV, pierrefonds, ChrisJ, Cricri has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 210
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Lidia Krukowska (Lidka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 68 W: 0 N: 182] (628)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH