Photos

Photographer's Note

Showers.
In this building, brought into operation at the end of 1943, newly arrived prisoners designated by the SS for forced labour in the concetration camp were registered and disinfected. From now on they would be know only by a prosoner number which was tatooed on to their ferearms. Here they were also issued with striped prisoner uniforms and had all their body hair removed. The SS also made additional 'selections' here, sending pregnant women to be murdered in the gas chambers. The poor state of hygiene in the concentration camp, and the hordes of insect, brought illness and epidemics which threatened the efficient functioning of the camp and the health of the SS who ran it. This building was therefore used in periodic campaigns to delouse the prisoners and their clothing.

Kofman has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1028
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Lukasz Oborzelski (jajko) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 201 W: 46 N: 97] (775)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH