Photos

Photographer's Note

The image shows Aalumgården (Aalum House) dating back to 1690ties, located in Bergmannsgata that is one of the two main streets in Røros.

Aalumgården was a residential unit until 1846, when J P Schultzberg and six years later Magnus Engzelius started business on the premises.

Røros Sparebank bought the house for banking business in 1894, which continued until 1973. Today the house is used for office and residential purposes.


------

Røros is a former mining town in Central Norway, located in a mountain area not far from the border to Sweden. The old town has maintained much of its original character, including a street plan dating from the 17th century, and timber houses from the 18th and 19th centuries.

The only reason for founding a town in this place was the fact copper was discovered in the area, and Røros Copper Mining Company was established in 1644. The company was operative for 333 years, until closure in 1977.

Røros has been on the UN World Heritage List since 1980, and today the place is more or less a living museum. In 2006 the municipality of Røros had 5632 inhabitants, and most of them are living in or near the town centre.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3227
Points: 196
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Pablo Minto (pablominto) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 9892 W: 315 N: 14432] (53746)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH