Photos

Photographer's Note

Fountain of the six lions or of San Rufino - Assisi

The fountain, fed by six cinnamons placed on as many lions' heads, erected in 1532 by the papal governor Virgilio de Bernardi, as recalled by the inscription, is located at the corner of the square of the same name, but initially was placed in Piazza San Francesco And was moved here between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
The lion's pad on the right has an inscription dated 1278 and the name of the Captain of the People, Bonifacio dei Samaritani, perhaps came from a fountain previously allocated in the square and documented since 1075. On the right side of the fountain there is A bas-relief bearing the oldest known coat of arms of the city coat of arms with a rampant lion.

ikeharel, ikeharel, Fis2, holmertz, pierrefonds, tyro, tyro, jean113 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17296 W: 130 N: 35967] (197786)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2017-08-17
  • Exposure: f/0.7, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-04-07 0:30
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17296 W: 130 N: 35967] (197786)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH