Photos

Photographer's Note

Pieve di San Brizio - Spoleto
The current façade is characterized by an elegant caciulea stone portal which has replaced the Romanesque door, probably of the bezel and ring type, as in other contemporary churches. It reads: "Aediles sumptibus Operae, MDXXXXI" (The builders built at the expense of the Opera in 1541). The forms of the portal are those of the full Renaissance with a round arch. At the center, at the top, a mullioned window supported by an ancient pink granite column, with a capital decorated with foliage, is dominated by a small bovine protome.
At the top on the left there is a Roman inscription of re-employment. Two simple side windows took the place of two single-lancet windows in the late eighteenth century, when the right-hand corner was reinforced with a spur. Here is an interesting marble fragment bearing a cross carved in faint bas-relief with a median rib, datable to the 6th century, probably coming from the early church. On the front and sides of the building there is a pavement with squares and lozenges of the late eighteenth century, a frequent embellishment in the churches of the Spoleto area.
On the front and sides of the building there is a pavement with squares and lozenges of the late eighteenth century, a frequent embellishment in the churches of the Spoleto area.

pierrefonds, Fis2, ikeharel, Royaldevon, dale54, papagolf21, tyro, ChrisJ, mcmtanyel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16543 W: 130 N: 34180] (190495)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2019-02-04
  • Exposure: f/0.6, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2019-02-08 2:52
Viewed: 566
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16543 W: 130 N: 34180] (190495)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH