Photos

Photographer's Note

Kilmainham Gaol is now a museum; it was built in 1796 as an advance in rehabilitation. The basis of treatment was solitude for repentance; it was planned that the prisioners be held for 23 hours a day, alone in their cell. It was an advance because in the former prison, the guards survived on bribes and everyone in the same room allowed ther strong to prey on the weak. Upon arrival, prisoners were given a blanket, a bible and a four inch candle. The candle had to last for 2 weeks – not an easy task as the windows shown were a latter addition. For this addition, it was decided that winds would blow the sin away. Unfortunately a prison built for 140, soon held many thousand. In the 140 years it served as a prison, its cells held many of the most famous people involved in the campaign for Irish independence. The leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising were held and executed here.
Children were sometimes arrested for petty theft (as in the UK), the youngest said to be a seven year-old boy[while many of the adult prisoners were deported to Australia
Kilmainham Gaol was abandoned as a jail in 1924, by the government of the new Irish Free State.
In the WS #1 is the new prison design while WS #2 shows the classic shot shown in movies.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3037
Points: 54
Discussions
Additional Photos by Pat Lim (plimrn) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3999 W: 226 N: 6734] (21344)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH