Photographer's Note

The National Assembly or Diet (Hungarian: Országgyűlés) is the parliament of Hungary. The unicameral body consists of 386 members elected to 4-year terms. Election of members is based on a complex system involving both area and list election; parties must win at least 5% of the popular vote in order to enter list members the assembly (but area winners enter regardless). The Assembly includes 25 standing committees to debate and report on introduced bills and to supervise the activities of the ministers. The Constitutional Court of Hungary has the right to challenge legislation on the grounds of constitutionality. The assembly has met in the Hungarian Parliament Building in Budapest since 1902.

Kofman has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1617
Points: 10
  • None
Additional Photos by Renzo Pietribiasi (rossofuoco) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 650 W: 59 N: 973] (7398)
View More Pictures