Photos

Photographer's Note

Just before dark in this small city of around 48,000. It has an interesting history and during the past 100 years is a major source of minerals from local mines. Interesting for non-Europe people to see the very organised and tidy style of dwellings and shops.

The town was first mentioned in 1034, at that time under the name Ammenberg. It became an important trading centre in the Middle Ages, exporting mainly iron ore and iron products.

In 1329 the town and the entire Upper Palatinate fell to a branch line of the Wittelsbach family and was no longer part of the duchy of Bavaria. Although in geographic terms it was regarded as Bavarian and the region was part of the Bavarian circle in the organization of the Imperial Circles. The rulers of Upper Palatinate were open-minded towards Protestantism. In the 16th century the town turned to Lutheranism, but attempts of the ruling family to introduce the more radical Calvinism failed due to the reluctance of its citizens.

In 1628 Amberg and Upper Palatinate became part of the electorate of Bavaria. The inhabitants were given the choice: return to Catholicism or leave the town forever. Many families left the town and fled to the Free Imperial Cities of Regensburg and Nuremberg.

On 24 August 1796, during the French Revolutionary Wars, the city and its environs were the locale of a major battle at which 35,000 French, under the command of Jean Baptiste Jourdan fought with 40,000 under the command of Archduke Charles; the French suffered significantly more losses in this Austrian victory. Amberg was the regional capital of Upper Palatinate (Oberpfalz) until 1810 when power was transferred to the larger city of Regensburg.
Notes from wikipedia.

pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2288
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Murray Lines (MLINES) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2255 W: 203 N: 2719] (12516)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH