Photos

Photographer's Note

Strahov Monastery
Belonging to the order of the Premonstratensians, it was founded in 1143 by Vladislav II. Its current Baroque appearance dates back to the seventeenth century. During its history, various restoration interventions have been carried out on the parts damaged by enemy raids. Inside the monastery is the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. Here are the remains of San Norberto, the founder of the order of the Premonstratensians, as well as an organ with which, during his visits to Prague, Mozart played. The Church can only be accessed during the liturgical functions. The Strahov Monastery Library has two rooms: the Baroque Theological Hall and the Classicist Philosophical Room, the halls are dominated by ceiling frescoes by Siard Nosecký and Anton Maulbertsch. It is one of the most precious and best preserved historical libraries, its collection is made up of about 200,000 volumes. The oldest part of the current library, the Baroque Theological Hall, was built between 1671 and 1674: the vaulted Philosophical Room, in classicist style, dates back to 1792 and, with its height, exceeds two floors of the building. Here are preserved the books and manuscripts of the Middle Ages, illustrations and globes. In addition to these spaces, there is a small exhibition dedicated to zoology, where you can contemplate various dried animals. The Strahov Monastery houses one of the most important picture galleries in Central Europe for the religious theme.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16660 W: 130 N: 34416] (191437)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2018-06-09
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2018-06-18 9:41
Viewed: 766
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 16660 W: 130 N: 34416] (191437)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH