photo size - The TrekEarth Forums

Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Old 03-14-2005, 06:09 AM
TE Newbie

Default photo size

I have photos I would like to post on this site, but they are too large in their current format. These were film prints which were developed and a cd copy was made. I've never worked with digital media before. I have ACDSee and Photoshop6 on my computer, but have never used them. Could someone tell me how to reduce the size of photo files so that I can post them? I know that this is probably very elementary, but have no idea how to do it.

Thanks
Ananta
Old 03-14-2005, 06:33 AM
TE Expert

Default Re: photo size

In Photoshop, go to "Image" then "Image size".

But I suggest you explore and learn what you can do with photoshop. A good starting pont is Instant Photshop</A> from <a href="http://www.luminous-landscape.com" target="_blank">luminous-landscape.com. You'll learn that resizing a picture can affect the picture quality but there are way prevent or fix this. Check their other tutorials on Photoshop. There's also many other website about photoshop, just google for it.
Old 03-14-2005, 06:40 AM
TE Newbie

Thanks, Green; I'm checking the link and see that there is a lot of relevant information there. I'll be working towards posting more photos which I have previously taken while waiting to purchase my first digital camera.
Old 03-14-2005, 06:45 AM
TE Expert

Glad I could help.
Old 03-14-2005, 06:50 AM
TE Junior Member

you will have to reduce size in pixels and in Kb,
first, open the photo using photoshop,
you said you have never used it, so i will tell you a few basic steps you can follow and then how to resize:

1- Duplicate the photo, then any change you do will not affect the original.
How? go to >>FILE >> Duplicate
Name your new version, from now on you will be working on this new version.

2- Play a bit with your photo, click >>ENHANCE, and chose "Auto contrast"