Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums > TrekEarth Forum Home > General

Notices

Old 12-18-2007, 04:44 PM
TE Newbie

Default Fishing for points?

Hi everyone, I am fairly new at TE, so please enlighten me.
Today I saw a photo here, which I think was rather mediocre, but got quite a few points. So I mentioned as a critique my opinion. But then I saw the photographer had a lot, and I do mean a lot, of points gathered, so I thought maybe I am missing something. I browsed his pictures and I didn't get it. Compared to others it was, of course in my humble opinion, rather mediocre. But then I saw this photographer has given hundreds of exactly the same positive critiques over and over and over and over. And that most of his points probably were a result of returning that favour.
My question is, is that how it works here? I thought this site was about learning about the world and learning about photography. Please your opinion about this matter. :-)
Old 12-18-2007, 05:03 PM
TE Junior Member

Default Re: Fishing for points?

Hehe, welcome to TE, Willem! This is exactly how it works...
Well, actually it's a large site and there are many different groups with different interests. The quality is appreciated as well, but the points are not necessarily an indication of quality, as you've just figured out. This topic has been discussed too many times, and if you dig among the older forums you'll see that you're not the only one bothered by this trend. Anyway, post quality and critique honestly, and you'll find your own group of like-minded photographs and learn a lot.
Old 12-18-2007, 05:21 PM

Willem,

It is truly refreshing to see a new member who is not only prepared to provide an honest personal appraisal of an image, but also clearly has the knowledge to provide meaningful critiques.