some background? - The TrekEarth Forums

Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Old 01-29-2007, 11:45 AM
TE Newbie

Default some background?

hey
is there anybody who knows a good website or book or something to get to know something more about the technical features of photography? Because POV, DOF... if I'm honest: I really don't know what you are talking about. I'm just a beginner and I would really like to learn a little bit more about those things...
Thanks a lot!
Old 01-29-2007, 12:03 PM

Default Re: some background?

Have a look here http://www.luminous-landscape.com/ Lots of information and tutorials.
Old 01-29-2007, 12:54 PM
TE Newbie

I think it would be uselful to have a "glossary" for new users here in TE
Old 01-29-2007, 01:16 PM

There is the beginnings of one here http://www.trekearth.com/glossary.php. I'm sure Adam would be open to additional information for inclusion.
Old 01-29-2007, 01:23 PM
TE Expert

+Before Internet I went into ly town library and I found many titles books about photography and I learnt by myself.
I can't help you for the title because I read French only.
Old 01-30-2007, 01:45 AM
TE Expert

Default Re: (to braveone) some definitions....

Here's some definitions for you... let me know if there are others you are looking for...

DOF

DOF means depth of field. This jargon just means the area that is in sharp focus. For instance, if you focus on something 1m away, and your DOF is .3m, then everything from .9m to 1.2m is in sharp focus. (As a general rule, DOF is 1/3 in front of the point of focus, and 2/3 behind it.) An object in the image would be increasingly out of focus the farther it is outside the DOF.
DOF is determined by a combination of focal length and aperature. Longer focal lengths have naturally smaller DOF for a given aperature. DOF can always be increased by using a smaller aperature opening (larger f/ number).
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
POV